IS THIS A SIGN OF THE APOCALYPSE?

There are times when I am amazed at what goes on in the baseball world.  I guess the same could be said about any world, but for the sake of this blog, we’re talking baseball.  I’m not a big memorabilia guy.  I have gotten a few autographs over the years, but they are always for my kids.  When a major league player does a rehab assignment with the PawSox, it is fairly common practice for the star to sign a box of baseballs for manager Ron Johnson.  RJ will always offer me one for each of my daughters.  That is about the extent of it.  I am always a little surprised when I see the amount of money fans are willing to pay for an autograph or a piece of memorabilia.  Uniforms, caps, shoes bats, balls and gloves are all of value to someone.  When Yankee Stadium closed down, everything from trash cans to urinals went up for bid.  One mans’ trash is clearly another mans’ treasure.  As bizarre as this sounds, the world of collectibles has hit rock bottom.  A memorabilia dealer in Saugus Mass. has apparently acquired some “game-worn” underwear and is putting it up for the highest bidder.  Phil Castinetti says he has the undies of Dustin Pedroia, Victor Martinez and Hideki Okajima and as Rich Fields might say on my favorite game show- “They can be yours, but only if the price is right.”  I have several questions.  #1- Who’s the creep that traipsed around the clubhouse and picked up the dirty skivvies?  #2- Where do you put them?  #3-  How do you approach someone and tell them you’ve got this particular item to sell? I’ve got a lot of other questions, but you get the point.  Have we plummeted so far as a society, that this barely raises an eyebrow?  Last year, this guy reportedly sold a pair of Alex Rodriguez’ underwear for $200.  His teammates, Madonna and Kate Hudson are really the only ones who should ever see his “drawers.”  I don’t want anyones’ underwear.  I can honestly tell you that.  When I was a kid, I shuddered when I was given any hand me downs.  The thought of touching, much less wearing someone elses stuff, grosses me out.  I’m reasonably confident that Pedey, V-Mart and Okie make enough money that they have nothing to do with this.  If this has become acceptable practice, I’m really afraid to see what’s next.  I’m not even going to go there, but use your vivid imagination.  A jockstrap once worn by Mike Lowell was reported to have fetched Castignetti over $400 a couple of years ago.  What’s next, people?  Pardon the pun (I guess it is intended) but, this whole used underwear thing- stinks! 

1 Comment

He’s been doing this for a couple of years. Within the last couple of years he had shorts, pants, even socks (even single socks!) on eBay. I’ve seen people make nice framed shadow boxes for jerseys… not really sure what you do with someone’s underwear. Now that this is a pattern, I think if I were a player I’d make sure I grabbed everything I’d worn at the end of the year, no matter how seemingly insignificant. It’s creepy.
Kelly

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

