I GET IT, BUT NOT REALLY

I am not a prude.  I am not a tea drinker.  I enjoy a cold beer, a nice glass of wine or occasionally, a martini (dry with olives).  Granted, I don’t drink nearly as much as I did when I was a younger man, but that’s not my point.  I understand that alcohol has its’ place in our rituals and celebrations.  A toast to the new baby, the bride and groom, a new job, happy times, better times…whatever the case may be, we can find a reason to drink to it.  Ordinarily, I’m all for it.  Celebrate the wild card, let off steam and recognize a job well done.  In recent days, something was brought to my attention that just hasn’t sat well.  The Los Angeles Angels endured a long hard season and currently are battling the Yankees for a World Series berth.  Early this season, Nick Adenhart, a promising young pitcher in the organization was tragically killed in an alcohol-related, hit and run car accident.  The horror came just hours after Adenhart had worked six shutout innings against Oakland.  The driver of another car ran a red light and Adenhart and two others were killed.  All season, the Halos brought his jersey with them on the road and hung it up in the dugout.  An angel on the shoulder of the Angels, if you will.  If it served as a motivator, or at least as a constant reminder of their fallen comrade, that’s great.  God forbid, if it had happened to one of our guys, I know he would have been remembered.  These guys are tight.  Where the Angels went desparately wrong in my mind, was after clinching a postseason berth for the sixth time in 8 years, according to an Associatred Press article of September 29, 2009- ” About ten minutes into the clubhouse celebration, the players grabbed Adenharts’ #34 jersey and gave it a joyous group dousing in  champagne.and beer.”  I’m sure the intention was good, but even symbolically, this is wrong on so many levels.  It was beer and champagne or some other alcoholic beverage that lead to his death.  There have been whispers, that Adenharts’ girl friend, who was driving the vehicle that was hit, had allegedly been drinking, as well.  It doen’t matter.  They’re gone and apparently, not forgotten.  This is clearly one case of “the hair of the dog”  that should not have occurred.  Although I am sure there were good intentions, it had to re-open wounds that his family has been nursing for months and will continue to care for forever.  There are ways to celebrate a fallen compatriot.  Right ways and wrong ways.  

4 Comments

“It was beer and champagne or some other alcoholic beverage that lead to his death.”
It was ABUSE of alcoholic beverages that led to his death, which is an important distinction, I think. As my friend Bonnie the Angels fan put it, “You don’t celebrate winning the division with Martinelli’s and milk. If Adenhart was here he’d be right there in the beer and champagne baths… which has nothing to do with Andrew Gallo being an irresponsible idiot who chose to drive drunk.” I think that including him in the traditional celebration (as they all ran out to his photograph on the wall) was a better tribute than changing the celebration. Just my opinion…
Kelly

I agree with you here – I too was a little troubled by the Angels pouring alcohol on Nick’s shirt. I would not have minded if it was in the room – but to make it front and center was a bit much. And I would disagree with Kelly – you do not need to be an alcohol abuser to drive drunk. One drink can make a person impaired.

Julia
http://werbiefitz.mlblogs.com/

Julia, I agree that one drink impairs a person–which is why as far as I’m concerned, drinking at all and then getting behind the wheel of a car is by definition abuse. It’s not that hard to understand: drink, or drive. Not both.
Kelly

Kelly- I don’t think there really is a distinction. It was a deadly combination. The Angels running out to the sign and pounding it was a touching remembrance, no doubt. I think they should have left it at that. “If Adenhart had been there”…no doubt, he’d have joined in, but that is an enormous “if”. Thanks for reading the blog. Steve

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

